The Tiger Nut
What is a tiger nut?
The tiger nut is actually not a nut, but a tuber, packed with nutrients and goodness. Tiger nuts are rich in health benefits and are regarded by many as a superfood. They are lactose free, dairy free, nut free, gluten free, suitable for vegans, vegetarians and diabetics. All of these benefits and the history prove that the tiger nut is a wonderful ingredient to any product.
Well travelled little "nuts"
Tell me more
About those little nuts
The tubers are edible, with a slightly sweet, nutty flavour and they have various uses; in particular, they are used in Spain to make horchata. “Horchata” is a nonalcoholic beverage of milky appearance derived from the tubers of the tiger nut plant mixed with sugar and water. It has a great economic impact in the east of Spain.
The Tiger nut or by it’s Latin name Cyperus esculentus is a crop of the sedge family, which can be found growing as a weed, wild or in cultivation. Evidence suggests that the tiger nut has been utilised in various places across the world for nearly 9000 years by Ancient Egyptians, Paleo Indians in North America and in Spain.